Background on the Registry

The Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry

The genesis of the Department of Agricultural Economics at Texas A&M University dates back to 1920. The first undergraduate received their degree in Agricultural Administration. Students now receive degrees in Agricultural Economics or Agribusiness. Since its origin, the department has had a rich tradition of preparing students for careers and leadership in agriculture, business, and the public sector. Through its outstanding teaching, research, and extension programs, the department is committed to the future by building on its strength of developing exemplary leadership through which its graduates can make a positive difference for others.

The Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry of Former Students in Agricultural Economics has been established to recognize and honor those graduates who have distinguished themselves in a meritorious way by reaching a significant level of accomplishment in their chosen field. The inductees into the Honor Registry represent the highest standards of integrity and character as recognized by their peers and will reflect positively on the Department of Agricultural Economics and Texas A&M University.

The Honor Registry is named after highly regarded faculty member and Department Head, Tyrus R. Timm, who led the department for 20 years during its rise to prominence in teaching, research, and extension--three important missions of a land-grant university. Dr. Timm was a 1934 graduate of the department in Agricultural Administration.

> Click here to learn more about Dr. Tyrus R. Timm
> Click here for a welcome from Dr. Edward Rister, Professor and Associate Department Head